Like most people, you probably don’t give much thought to your car insurance coverage until you have to use it. That’s why it’s essential to understand all the different types of coverage available to you and how they work. This post will look at one type of coverage in particular – uninsured motorist coverage. This type of coverage is required in some states and optional in others. It protects you if you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance.
Read on to learn everything you need about how uninsured motorist coverage works!
What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured motorist coverage (UM) is a type of insurance that covers you if you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance. In some states, this coverage is required by law. In others, it is optional.
This coverage will pay for your medical bills, lost wages, and other damages if an uninsured driver hits you. It will also cover you if a hit-and-run driver hits you.
How Does Uninsured Motorist Coverage Work?
The UM coverage works like any other insurance coverage. You pay a premium, and if you are ever in an accident with an uninsured driver, your insurance company will step in and pay for your damages up to the limit of your coverage.
UM coverage is usually offered as part of a liability insurance policy. This means that it will only cover you for accidents deemed to be your fault. If you are involved in an accident that is not your fault, your UM coverage will not kick in.
Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage Required in California?
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in California. However, it is highly recommended. This is because California is a no-fault state, meaning that your insurance company will step in to pay for your damages regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
If you don’t have UM coverage and are hit by an uninsured driver, you will be responsible for paying for your damages. This can be a very costly mistake.
How Much Does Uninsured Motorist Coverage Cost in California?
The cost of uninsured motorist coverage in California varies depending on several factors, including the insurance company you use, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the deductible you choose.
You can expect to pay between $50 and $100 per year for UM coverage. This is a small price to pay for the peace of mind that comes with knowing you are protected in the event of an accident with an uninsured driver.
Filing a Car Accident Claim
If you are unfortunate enough to be in an accident, you will likely need to file an insurance claim. This can be a daunting task, but we’re here to help.
The first thing you will need to do is gather all the necessary documentation. This includes the police report, medical records, and other pertinent information.
Once you have all your documentation in order, you will need to file a claim with your insurance company. It is essential, to be honest, and upfront with your insurer. If you try to hide any information, it could jeopardize your claim.
After you have filed your car accident claim, the insurance company will launch an investigation. They will look at the evidence and determine who is at fault for the accident.
If the insurance company finds that you are not at fault, they will pay for your damages. They will likely deny your claim if they find that you are at fault. If your claim is denied, you can appeal the decision. This is a complex process, and it is essential to have an experienced attorney on your side.
To conclude, uninsured motorist coverage is an essential type of insurance. If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, this coverage will help pay for your medical expenses and damaged property. If you have any questions about your uninsured motorist coverage or need to file a claim, contact and visit Garcia and Phan Personal Injury Attorney At (714) 586-8298.